Barbara H. Peterson

SMCC

Have indoor cats and spending a fortune on fancy cat litters that don’t really work to keep your house smelling fresh and not like a cat urine dump? Well, look no further. I have found an inexpensive method of keeping your cat litter box fresh and clean smelling. Yes, you heard me correctly. This is a foolproof method that eliminates the smell. Here is how it is done:

1. I keep a metal bucket next to the wood stove that I fill with ash when the stove gets cleaned out.

2. The bucket sits with the lid on until it is completely cool, and the ash is safe to handle.

3. Take your ash and fill the kitty litter box with approximately 2 inches of the cooled ash.

3. Put another couple of inches of pure clay kitty litter – the inexpensive kind without the added chemicals and fragrances – on top of that.

4. Now mix about 1/4 cup of baking soda into the clay litter.

You won’t even know you have a cat litter box. I have been using this method for several months now, and it works beautifully. When people come to the house the only way they know I have an indoor cat is when she comes out to say hello.

Barbara H. Peterson