by Lloyd45 at Above Top Secret

 

I know nobody likes to think of ever being in this situation, but for most people, it’s entirely possible with the economy being what it is. This is not the be-all, end-all to street or urban survival, but more like a crash course.
 

I was homeless myself for almost a year, and it was hard, but I managed. I missed a lot of things from my previous life like TV, phones, running water, and flushable toilets, but when put in their proper perspective, I realized they were all very inconsequential to my needs for shelter, security, and the all-consuming desire to eat. 

Being homeless in a large city, is like living in an urban jungle full of predators (people). You practically need eyes in the back of your head to get by. You’ll develop a sixth sense for danger after awhile, or you’ll become a victim of a random, or not so random act of violence.   Read more…